The elder to the youth

I’ve seen this so many times in so many areas of my Christian life. So many people neglect service to the church as a local body. The point of this post is to promote a desire to serve in the church. If you don’t go to a church, go and serve. Christ died for His church. Men, you will never understand how to love your wife unless you serve in the church and see exactly what Christ loved so much, and gave Himself for. If you are a Christian, you must be part of a local body, and serve in some way. I believe Scripture is quite clear on this (just read the epistles).

This is my first attempt at poetry. This poem is about an elderly man who is struggling carrying all his purchased goods from a store out to his car. A youth happens upon him and helps him with his things, when an interesting conversation happens. Their lines always exchange, (elder, youth, elder, youth). When there are no quotes, the narrator is speaking.

“Thank you for helping me,” said the elder to the youth.

“It’s no trouble at all, sir.”

“Are you sure?”

“It’s the truth.”

“Now tell me young man, why would you help an old codger like me?”

“Well I’m on my way to work, sir, and your car is on the way.”

“You’re on your way to work?!”

“Yes, it’s my second shift today.”

“But it’s Sunday,” said the elder to the youth, “Shouldn’t you be in church?”

“I’m sorry, sir, I haven’t the time. My funds are in a lurch.”

“You can’t work any other time?”

“No, I have too many deadlines.”

“You’re in the spring of life, what deadlines keep you harried?”

“I’m in college, sir, and homework and bills have me buried.”

“I see how that must trouble you so.”

“It’s a lot on my plate, I know.”

“Where do you go to school young man?” said the elder to the youth.

“I go to a Bible college.”

“A Bible college?!”

“It’s the truth.”

“Why go to a Bible college, but not make time for Sunday?”

“Money’s too short, and homework’s too long – I’m behind on both by Monday.”

“I want to ask you a question, son.”

“What kind of question is that?”

“Have you ever heard about Jesus Christ, as He’s told in Scripture?”

“Of course I have, I know Him well. I even know the coming rapture.”

“Is that all you know?”

“Oh, how much I know.”

“Tell how much you know of this Jesus, show me this education.”

“I know of Scripture, of spirits, of Calvinism. I know angels, and devils, and Arminianism. I know covenants, commandments, and dispensationalism.”

“That’s impressive, truly.” said the elder to the youth.

“I’m studying to learn the truth.”

“Then why have you learned the terms, and not the teacher and neglected His prized possession?”

“I’m a good student! I’ll graduate with honors! Ministry will be my profession.”

“How can you lead where you’ve never been lead?”

“How can I serve when I’ve no time for my bed?”

“How can you feed others when you don’t know how to eat?”

“How can I move on with all this debt chained to my feet?”

“How can you sharpen a sword with dull tools?”

“How can you stand working with fools?”

“How can you stand not working at all?”

“How can you question so full of gall?”

“Jesus said He’d build His church. Do you believe this to be true?”

“Of course I do, it’s clear in history. It’s never not been true.”

“Do you claim to be part of the body of Christ?” said the elder to the youth.

“I am a Christian aren’t I?”

“You are?”

“It’s the truth.”

“Then why have you amputated yourself from the body?”

“The church has survived for years without this nobody.”

“But this nobody could have been somebody to a local body and turned that local body into some body!”

 The two looked at each other in silence, neither will would bend.

After some time, the elder spoke again,

“Will you reattach yourself to the body?”

The youth had no answer then.

“Do you believe in Jesus, as He’s told in Scripture?” said the elder to the youth.

“I’m sorry, I’ve no time to talk. I must be off to work.”

“Are you sure?”

“It’s the truth.”

Leave a Reply

